Award Recipients


Andrew Roberts

Andrew Roberts is the bestselling author of The Storm of War: A New History of the Second World War, Masters and Commanders: How Four Titans Won the War in the West, 1941–1945, Waterloo: Napoleon’s Last Gamble and Napoleon: A Life, winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for biography and a finalist for the Plutarch Award. He has won many other prizes, including the Wolfson History Prize, the Bradley Prize, and the British Army Military Book of the Year. His latest book is Churchill: Walking with Destiny (Viking).


Victor Davis Hanson

Victor Davis Hanson is the Martin and Illie Anderson Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution, where he focuses on classics and military history.


Philippe de Montebello

During his more than thirty years as Director of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Philippe de Montebello worked tirelessly to preserve the very best of our cultural patrimony. His deep understanding of and respect for the grand Western humanist tradition helped to secure the Met’s standing as a beacon of civilization and to ensure that generations present and future will be able to appreciate our common artistic heritage.


Ayaan Hirsi Ali

Ayaan Hirsi Ali is the Founder of the AHA Foundation, a Fellow with the Future of Diplomacy Project at the Harvard Kennedy School, and the author of Infidel (Free Press) and Heretic (Harper).


Charles Murray

Charles Alan Murray is an American libertarian conservative political scientist, author, and columnist. His book Losing Ground: American Social Policy 1950–1980 (1984), which discussed the American welfare system, was widely read and discussed, and influenced subsequent government policy.


Donald Kagan

Donald Kagan is an American historian and classicist at Yale University specializing in ancient Greece, notable for his four-volume history of the Peloponnesian War. He formerly taught in the Department of History at Cornell University. At present, Kagan is considered among the foremost American scholars of Greek history.


Henry A. Kissinger

Henry A. Kissinger was sworn in on September 22, 1973, as the 56th Secretary of State, a position he held until January 20, 1977. He also served as Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs from January 20, 1969, until November 3, 1975. At present, Dr. Kissinger is Chairman of Kissinger Associates, Inc., an international consulting firm.